The Definition of Insanity

Originally posted on Posterous Dec 9th 2010

I have noticed a pattern to my working week.

In doing so I have not yet identified a way to master it, let alone change it, but I have at least except it and thus handle it better.

I am reminded of a scene around season 6 of E.R, when Mark Greene’s character is spending time with his father who he has a fractious relationship with. Mark, was the Chief of the Emergency Room, and his father was an Admiral in the U.S Navy. His father, who finally see’s the work that Mark can do as a Doctor and it leads them to have a bonding conversation. His father tells him that his favourite part of the day when he was in the Navy was first thing, before planes went into manoeuvres, because it was calm and from that moment onwards anything could happen. And Mark felt the same, they learned to appreciate the calm

I am learning to appreciate the calm.

Mondays are my calm day, it is the day my course are not in.

Tuesday is a good day, the course are in after a three day weekend, we have good lessons, good catch up.

Wednesday is an easy day, the course are not in for long and I see them in passing.

Thursday is a bad day, arguments erupt and time is spent on trying to understand what just happened and working through the issues.

Friday is a tough day, spent mopping up the tears, and sending them off into the weekend happy again.

God, grant me the serenity

To accept the things I cannot change;

Courage to change the things I can;

And wisdom to know the difference.

Reinhold Niebuhr

Leave a Reply

