Continuing Personal Development

Am currently completing my second learning journey and planning what will be my third.

The first took me from preschool to A-Levels, a 15 year journey

The second 15 years took me from college to a teaching Qualification, via university.

The next journey of which approx 6 years has been planned led me to ask myself the important question.

“What should I be learning?”

With Andragogy, how adults learn, we are told that an important aspect is understanding why what is being studied is being studied.

Another important factor predetermining success is confidence

The ultimate goal at the end of the 6 years is to have an MA in education, preferably from the Institute of Education.

But, what should I study, will I be successful and why is it so important to study at the IoE anyway?

What is my intrinsic motivation?

What is my extrinsic motivation?

Getting feedback on this was essential, but who could I ask?

The qualification would have to have an applicational benefit, rather then just storing knowledge.

Would it involve holistic learning?

If I am to complete an M.A I will need to practice my learning, applying myself to a variety of tasks, extending my academic abilities and comparing my study skills to the level need for MA. Evaluating my writing and ensuring I use the correct academic language.

Working to an appropriate timescale, managing my workload, my home life and other interests.

Learning is not an independent activity, I must involve others to support me, become critical buddies, as I develop skills needed.

The current plan is as follows:

Year 1; Study Diploma Teaching Numeracy at Canterbury Christchurch University.

Year 2; Study Diploma Teaching Literacy at Canterbury Christchurch University.

Year 3; Study Post-graduate Diploma in Inclusive Education (Social Emotional Behavioural Difficulties)

Year 5; Study MA in Education

The Teaching Numeracy and Literacy, serves obvious purposes. Even without the current political fallout from the Wolf report, the 16-19 year olds that I teach need continued focus on their development in this area. Especially because the bulk of them will proclaim, “I don’t like maths” which is like saying they don’t reading (okay bad example) maths is an integrigle part of every day life, what they mean is,

I don’t like maths lessons.

I enjoy maths lessons, but I am not a maths teacher. This as supportively brought up during an observation, they could see the lesson had merit and the students were engaged, but their was flaws in the teaching.

How true will this be for others? How many F.E teachers are embedding maths and English without a clear understanding of how to teach it?

Be Seeing You

Leave a Reply

