Dr Keevil’s Intro to Teaching Things and Stuff

learning-teaching

When I started the blog, it was in the vague notion of discussing creative ventures and creative ideas.

And I quickly found I didn’t have that much to say. Lacked confidence in what I was saying.

I took inspiration from blogs by friends and inspiration from strangers

I was also intimidated

But that’s much more about me then about them.
I smoke and mirrored plans.

I became a lecturer. This wasn’t the plan.

I had graduated from MidKent College in 2000, in 2007 I was invited to go back and deliver some work shops. I really enjoyed it, and the work produced by the students was good.

In 2008 I was hired as a sessional lecturer part time. Then I became full time, permanent.

This was now my job. A career maybe.

I had responsibility for a course. Students of my own.
During this time I did make ‘stuff’ but I mostly made excuses.

I saw lots of things that inspired my, but procrastinated with that inspiration.

I pushed many students to blog, but didn’t blog myself.

I made many ralling calls to the wind, this is one of them, saying this time I was going to… Whatever.
I didn’t know what I wanted to talk about… Until now.
Will it be meaningful? Will I have confidence?
I recently hit my five year mark in teaching and had an appraisal at the same time.

And I was very clear in my own mind and in my own appraisal that I wanted to be doing something different.

This blog is going to be about me developing my own theory’s in action. How I teach, why I teach, what I teach, who I learn from, what I’m learning and when I’m learning.

theory-1104-5501

Be seeing you.

Leave a Reply

